National Asian/Pacific Islander Council,
an affiliated council of the American Association for Community Colleges (AACC)

About Us

The National Asian Pacific Islander Council (NAPIC) was established in 2007 to provide a national body for Asian/Pacific Islander constituents of community colleges to have the opportunity to affiliate and identify in the interest of more effective education.

As an affiliate organization of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC), NAPIC is a non-profit, charitable, and educational organization. It is organized to operate for educational purposes, including access to quality education for Asian/Pacific Islanders, the enhancement of our pluralistic society, advocacy and policy, and the development of the nation’s total human resources.

NAPIC directs its efforts toward matters that include curriculum, data collection, dissemination and research, communication with its members and with the AACC, development of recommendations to the AACC, and development of collaborative efforts with other segments of the Asian/Pacific Islander Community and others contributing to the same interest and cause.

NAPIC is committed to promoting professional development of Asian/Pacific Islander Leadership within colleges in the United States, support services for Asian/Pacific Islander students, and implementing and expanding meaningful action programs.

***See Members Section for Advocacy

NAPIC Board of Directors 2017-2018

Lori Adrian, President
Coastline Community College, CA

Anthony Beebe, Superintendent/President
Santa Barbara City College, CA

Zarina Blankenbaker, President
Tarrant Community College Northwest Campus, TX

Kathi Hiyane-Brown, President
Whatcom Community College, WA

Manuel Cabral, Chancellor
Leeward Community College, HI

Dan Dao, Professor
Richland College, TX

Pam Y. Eddinger, President
Bunker Hill Community College, MA

Patricia Hsieh, President
San Diego Miramar College, CA

Lee Lambert, Chancellor
Pima Community College District, AZ

Jee Hang Lee, Vice President, Public Policy/ External Relations
Association of Community College Trustees, Washington DC

Otto W. K. Lee, President
Los Angeles Harbor College, CA

Shirley Metcalf, President
Central Oregon Community College, OR

Gerald F. Napoles, President
Lone Star College-North Harris Campus, TX

Christine Nguyen, Vice President, Administrative Services
Coastline Community College, CA

Shouan Pan, Chancellor
Seattle Colleges, WA

Rosie Rimando-Chareunsap, Vice President, Student Services
South Seattle Community College, WA

Rachel Solemsaas, Chancellor
Hawaii Community College, HI

Jianping Wang, President
Mercer County Community College, NJ

Audrey Yamagata-Noji, Vice President, Student Services
Mt. San Antonio College, CA

Henry C.V. Yong, Chancellor
Yosemite Community College District, CA

Naomi O. Story, Executive Director-Consultant

Institutional Members 2017-2018

Asian & Pacific Islander American Scholarship Fund (APIASF), DC
Bellevue College, WA
Bergen Community College, NJ
Bunker Hill Community College, MA
Central Oregon Community College, OR
Chabot - Las Positas Comm. College Dist, CA
Clovis Community College Center, NM
Coastline Community College, CA
College Of Micronesia - FSM
Edmonds Community College, WA
Fullerton College, CA
Kauai Community College, HI
Leeward Community College, HI
Lonestar Community College-North Harris Campus, TX
Los Angeles Harbor College, CA
Mesa Community College, AZ
Mission Community College, CA
Mt. San Antonio College, CA
Northern Marianas College
Ohlone Community College, TX
Pacific Center for Advanced Tech Training, HI
Palau Community College
Pasadena City College, CA
Pima CommunityCollege-Community Campus, AZ
Pima CommunityCollege-Northwest Campus, AZ
Pima County Community College District, AZ
Richland College, TX
Rio Hondo College, CA
Saint Paul College, MN
San Diego Miramar College, CA
Santa Monica College, CA
Santa Rosa Junior College, CA
Skyline College, CA
South Seattle Community College, WA
Spokane Falls Community College, WA
University Of Hawaii Community Colleges, HI
Whatcom Community College, WA

Individual Members 2017-2018

Sunil Chand, President Emeritus, College of DuPage, IL
Ding-Jo Currie, Chancellor Emeritus, Coast Community College District, CA
Jee Hang Lee, VP for Public Policy and External Relations, ACCT